The Social Justice Forum

The Social Justice Forum (SJF) is one way the tradition of prophetic ministry and social justice advocacy continues within the Synod of NSW and the ACT.

The Forum was established in 2009 to strengthen collaboration and to encourage capacity building in community advocacy through campaigns and training.

It’s made up of senior leaders within the Synod and its community services agencies. 

The Uniting Advocacy Team

The work of the SJF is supported by the Uniting Advocacy Team within the Mission, Communities and Social Impact directorate. The team is led by Head of Advocacy Emma Maiden. It includes Earth Advocates who lead our climate and environment campaigns - visit the Uniting Earth Web site for more info on these. Full list of current team members under Contact us below.

It aims to encourage individuals, Congregations and Presbyteries to be informed and to take action on social issues as an expression of their faith.

 

The Social Justice Forum and the Uniting Advocacy Team:

  • Recommends action and advocacy initiatives for the Synod. Currently we have four main campaign priorities: the Fair Treatment campaign for drug law and policy reform; the Uniting Affordable Housing campaign;  The Give Hope: Uniting for Asylum Seekers campaign; and climate and environment campaigns led by our Uniting Earth Advocates. 

  • Encourages and supports all parts of the church to engage in social justice activity. This happens through provision of information and other resources, including an advocacy training package and guidance on meeting with MPs.

  • Shares information about social justice advocacy happening around the Synod through the SJF Facebook pages, Social Justice E-news, Synod's Insights and other means.

UNITING ADVOCACY TEAM

Emma Maiden Head of Advocacy  emaiden@uniting.org

Kyle Cox Senior Campaign Adviser  kcox@uniting.org   

Dee Davidian Social Justice Advocate  ddavidian@uniting.org 

Alex Hogan  Social Justice Advocate (on leave 2019-20)  ahogan@uniting.org

Jason John  Uniting Earth Advocate  0438 609 097   jjohn@uniting.org

Jessica Morthorpe  Uniting Earth Advocate  (02) 9768 6897  jmorthorpe@uniting.org 

Jon O’Brien  Advocacy Senior Specialist   0477 725 528  joobrien@uniting.org      

Stafford Sanders  Social Justice Advocate  0412 070 194  ssanders@uniting.org

Dom Schuster Government Relations Specialist  0466 714 899  dschuster@uniting.org

Bronwyn Seneque Advocacy Project Specialist  0420 578 028  bseneque@uniting.org


SJF email: socialjustice@uniting.org

Advocacy team email: advocacy@uniting.org


The Advocacy team is located on:
Level 5, 222 Pitt St Sydney NSW 2000
and
Level 1, War Memorial Building, 13 Blackwood Place, North Parramatta NSW 2150.

Sign up to our monthly newsletter to stay informed on our campaigns, and for opportunities for you to get involved.

Be sure to follow our social media for news and live updates about all of our campaigns and to join in on the discussion!

For resources and further reading, go to our resources page.