The Synod is a council of the Church, formed by the Assembly.

The Synod in session is held every 18 months for four days with approximately 400 members across the Uniting Church in Australia’s Synod of NSW and the ACT. Members are elected by Presbyteries across the Synod and reflect the diversity of membership in the Uniting Church in Australia.

The Synod in session is four days that includes worship, Bible study, business and reporting from a range of stakeholders.